Warwick Anderson

Yet another SOPHI (History) coup. Congratulations to Warwick Anderson whose The Collectors of Lost Souls: Turning Kuru Scientists into Whitemen (Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2008) has been awarded the 2010 Ludwik Fleck Prize at the annual meeting of the Society for Social Studies of Science (4S) in Tokyo. Named for a pioneering philosopher of medicine and science (and immunologist), the Fleck Prize is awarded annually for the best book in the area of science and technology studies (STS). It is the major international book prize in STS. Past winners include Donna Haraway, Steven Shapin, Londa Schiebinger, Peter Dear, Karin Knorr Cetina and Adele E. Clarke. Lost Souls also received the 2010 William H. Welch Medal of the American Association for the History of Medicine and the 2009 New South Wales Premier’s General History Prize.

Congratulations Warwick.


0 Responses to “Warwick Anderson”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s




%d bloggers like this: